Review: About Time (2013)

I can’t explain how beautiful this movie is. I have really underrated the power of a Ginger Man which I could say that this may just be, a life after Hogwarts kind of movie for Ron & Hermione if they were muggles. Instead of Ron, he was actually Bill Weasley!!

I must say I am impressed since his character didn’t appear much in the movies so I was a bit of surprised that he could pull off such a charming Irish plus British all over the movie
(Friendly reminder Uncle Vernon made a cameo!)

So as the trailer says, its about Tim who could travel in time. I don’t agree much that only the guys in the family could travel though but it would be a chaos if everyone or both men and women could travel in time haha.

On another note, I love almost everything about this movie, its no wonder that it gave me a familiar feeling when I read up that the Director/Writer of this movie – Richard Curtis are the same person who made Bridget Jone’s Diary, Notting Hill & Love Actually. he will come out with Roald Dahl’s Esio Trot this year….so its definitely going to be in my watch list.

Trust me, its more than a chick flick if you really pay attention to the scripts and how their life changes.It makes you rethink of how you see your boring life, particularly on what the father says about experiencing it & noticing what you miss. Of cause its impossible to travel into time, but we can always travel with time by living the moment & time we have.

I was really touched by the wedding scene, it started with a calm & happy day before halfway through the reception, the wind came and the rain fell heavily , while the rest of the guest soak with water – even the roof was blown away! So I thought it was very beautiful how what you think were a disastrous wedding party, turned into a fun playing under the rain party. Like, how many time in the world you can get wet and dance under the rain in a wedding? It is not so bad idea haha

But how can you forget how beautiful were Rachel Adams when  the door was opened and there she was in her red wedding dress and Il Mondo playing as she cheekily dance through the aisle? What an entrance!

image    image

Other interesting part would be the subway scene, like the focus were the singing musicians at the subway, while the character’s life changes everyday going to and from the subway while the musicians were playing “How Long Will I love You’ . So it seems like you are living in a still life but everything actually moving around you

And before I spoil the whole movie is about, please watch and find out yourself 😉

As all families do, we got used to life after death. And it was still fine. And things settled back into their traditional rhythms season after season, and are much as they have always been. And we’ve got used to Kit Kat being happy again. And then we got used to her being a mum. Albeit not a very good or even safe one. And in the end, I think I’ve learned the final lesson from my travels in time. And I’ve even gone one step further than my father did. The truth is, I now don’t travel back at all. Not even for the day. I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day to enjoy it as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life. And in we go.We’re all travelling through time together every day of our lives. All we can do is do our best to relish this remarkable ride.” 

About Time (2013)

        

Leave a Reply

