Kimdonesia

This is Kim, who went to Indonesia and became a muslim. Now, she’s making video on things that she hope to clear all the misunderstanding on Islam. Pretty cool the way she makes the video. She’s studying in Australia now and speaks Indonesian language quite well. See the videos below. Owh and a video below that is her video on her conversion to Islam and one of her blog post on why she became muslim.

πŸ˜‰

http://my.muxlim.com/kimthenewmuslimah91/

http://www.youtube.com/KimDonesia

When I found out that my mother, younger sister and I were to move to Indonesia to live with my step-father who was working there on a contract, I was scared. I was a typical non-Muslim Australian, watching the news and believing every word I heard. I was terrified for my step-father’s safety over there, and our safety when we would end up living there.

When I thought of Indonesia, a predominantly Muslim country, I thought of violence and terrorism. Because that’s what I saw on the news after the Bali Bombings. That’s what I believed a Muslim country would be like, after tearfully watching the horrific event of 9/11 on the news in the doctor’s surgery while having my arm bandaged up, after breaking it in a skating accident. I was only about 10 at the time but still knew what terrorism was, and thought I knew what a Muslim was.

When I saw a Muslim woman wearing a headscarf in the street, I would do what any non-Muslim Australian would do. I would stare and stare. I would wonder what really was under all the clothing and that headscarf. What was a Muslim really like? I never really generalized a single people or race, but it was a bit hard when the media constantly hinted that Islam taught terrorism.

My first actual encounter with a Muslim was when we arrived in our town in Indonesia. A smiling hijabi warmly greeted my family and I, and talked to us kindly and excitedly in broken English. I instantly let go of any negative feelings I ever had about Muslims in general.

In the early hours of the morning, I would toss and turn when the call to prayer came blaring over the town through the mosque’s big speaker thingies. I would think to myself, why the heck would you pray at this hour of the morning!? How can you be so dedicated to a religion!? Curse that “singing-prayer-man”!!!! (Haha, obviously I don’t think that anymore.)

The day I learned to appreciate the adhan was when I was watching the Indonesian boys play soccer on the field which was directly in front of the mosque. Although my sister was more interested in the boys running around shirtless, I sat there and listened to the adhan. It gave me chills all over – good chills, of course. I thought to myself how beautiful it sounded. I felt, somehow, closer to God.

I wanted to learn more, more and more about this religion that so many people dedicated their lives to more than any other religion in the world. This religion that had deeply touched so many lives that they fasted for an entire month, and dropped everything they were doing to bow down to God. I envied the Muslims. I wanted to be a part of it too.

I asked my Indonesian friends billions of questions about Islam, and they were so willing to answer. They were so happy to learn that I was considering converting someday. We even started saying “salam” to each other. When I moved back to Australia, I hit the library. Hardcore. I studied, and studied and studied. The more I studied, the more I believed. I was so close to converting until I clashed with the wrong group of friends.

Let’s just say, I went the WROOOONG way. Far away from Islam. I laughed at myself for considering converting. As much as I now loved Muslims, I vowed I’d never convert to Islam.

But you know what? Something happened. Something happened that changed my mind. I mean, no spectacular life-changing event occured or anything. Just a sudden change of mind. I didn’t know what it was at the time, but now I know it was Allah SWT who changed my mind. I was pretty messed up with my rebellious ways, and Allah SWT must have decided it was my time to realize what I was doing. And what I really needed to do.

So, again, I got back into my intense Islamic studies. I decided not to convert until the end of 2008, where I could start wearing hijab straightaway (because I wouldn’t be at a Catholic private school anymore) and I could start praying. My conversion didn’t really go as planned.

I remember the night I converted. It was April 15, 2008 (I was 16, going on to 17 years old) and I had just finished talking on MSN Messenger to a Muslim girl who lived in my town. We were talking about life, and stuff. I asked her whether I should wait to convert to Islam. She told me that life is short and we never know when it can end, and then asked me to ask myself, “Do I want to die a non-Muslim or a Muslim?” She convinced me that if I convert, I can take my time to wear hijab, and I can take my time with learning how to pray.

Oh, she convinced me, alright. I went straight into my bedroom and said my Shahadah immediately after that conversation, and then took a shower to “wash my sins away”. The whole time, my heart was beating like crazy and I knew that this decision would change my life immensely.

Now, I’m so glad I made this decision. It HAS changed my life for the better. I feel like I actually have something to live for. I always believed in God, but now I feel so much closer to Him. I feel He’s closer than my veins. And for every breath I take, I am thankful that Allah SWT brought me to the truth. Alhamdullilah.

Leave a Reply

